Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the RZR world, in the market for a small light bar or 2 lights for my Polaris brush guard. Why on earth are the LED lights so expensive. $300.00 for a the small light bars? I know they draw a lot less amps and are much brighter but why the hefty price tag?

I'd like some reasonable options for lights for my brush guard, anyone have suggestions?

·
Registered
281 Posts
4 inch Red ring HID's. Bright as hell and only 100 bucks for the set on Amazon. Brighter than any LED for the price could ever dream of being.

·
Registered
7,130 Posts
Good question. White LED's are a whole new animal so to speak. There is a lot of hands on labor to build an LED array, and there is a lot to the technology. Actually, White LED's are a fairly new concept, whereas red, green blue and yellow have been around for sometime. In the "old days" they lit all three rgb at the same time in close proximity to fool the human eye to think it was white, but it didn't produce enough lumens for our needs.
I think in time, the high end light bars will be in the $200-500 range instead of $3-1500.
I put a set of 4" LED euro driving lights from Super ATV on our RZR. They are less than $150, and are amazing on a dark night! They draw less than 4 amps for the pair.

·
Banned
5,672 Posts
... White LED's are a fairly new concept, whereas red, green blue and yellow have been around for sometime. In the "old days" they lit all three rgb at the same time in close proximity to fool the human eye to think it was white, ...
look up at a Walgreens message sign tomorrow and you will see RGB next to each other. In the past few years it became a 5 pattern. They vary the current to each. R+G+B= white.

Diodes in signs are not cheap either.
In the photo count them up at $3.50 each, both sides. Power supply add $70 more. One power supply will push 75 of those little fellers.
or 75 RZR dome lights.