Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Premium Member
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone......I am a fellow enthusiast of the sport like everybody else here on the forum and look forward to sharing information and ideas with each other on how to improve our ever growing sport and to make it a more enjoyable experience in the process.

I am actually not a business at this time but thru my own experiences have found that my SXS squeaks and creaks way to much for my liking. So I started looking into where all of this noise was coming from and found that the majority of it was coming from the suspension and the shocks.

My background is in mechanical engineering and I have an extensive amount of experience in dealing with polymer elastomers and rubber compounds etc.....where am I going with all of this? In short, the stock o-rings used on many of the RZR model shocks (FOX and Walker Evans) to keep dirt and water out of the spherical bearings are made out of Nitrile (Buna-N) rubber.

You ask what is wrong with that? Well...nothing honestly if all you are trying to do is keep water from leaking out of your garden hose at home.