Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Deciding on which direction I want to go on a new or slightly used 2019 RZR XP 1000. Instead of looking for a ride command model, I thought an iPad might work?

Is there any decent front and back up cameras (wired or wireless) that work well with ipads? I thought about buying a mini iPad to use for music, load maps on, and preferably to use for cameras. I don't really want it to be a cumbersome operation though. With the iPad I know I'll have to manually click on camera app as I doubt there's any way around that?

I have even thought about just buying a Dynamix model, assuming that model comes with cameras as well (or can be added easily)?

Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
I have used iPad for navigation. Not anymore. Just go for the Dynamix. Comes with a back camera, front can be added for less than $100. Nothing beats the in dash Ride Command, nothing. Navigation so much better then any iPad software I every found.

Added the front camera then had to move my winch out on a bumper. Killed the view of front camera. Has a great view of the winch rope. Trying to figure out if I want to relocate the camera. Would not be hard, not sure where or how I want to mount it yet. Will use as is for a couple of rides and then decided.

Look at what the cost are for each option. Dynamix has more to offer than anyone really talks about. I'm still finding things on it. Like a readout of turbo boost. Has so much information plus the adjustable suspension. No brainer in by book after having a Dynamix, would not go back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have used iPad for navigation. Not anymore. Just go for the Dynamix. Comes with a back camera, front can be added for less than $100. Nothing beats the in dash Ride Command, nothing. Navigation so much better then any iPad software I every found.

Added the front camera then had to move my winch out on a bumper. Killed the view of front camera. Has a great view of the winch rope. Trying to figure out if I want to relocate the camera. Would not be hard, not sure where or how I want to mount it yet. Will use as is for a couple of rides and then decided.

Look at what the cost are for each option. Dynamix has more to offer than anyone really talks about. I'm still finding things on it. Like a readout of turbo boost. Has so much information plus the adjustable suspension. No brainer in by book after having a Dynamix, would not go back.
Thanks for the info. Dynamix is also a thought. Right now I’m looking at a 2019 XP 1000 ride command for $16.5k with 700 miles on it and some accessories with 5 year Polaris extended warranty. This may sell before I can get to it. He supposedly has a guy looking at it today.

I Have someone closer that has a 2019 Dynamix for $19.5k with 200 miles on it and decent amount of accessories and 5-6 months warranty left.

The regular ride command model can add the cameras pretty easily correct? Seems odd that Polaris didn’t think of winches when they made the spot for the camera to go on the front.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Ride command comes with the rear, the front is plug and play. Very easy install. The hardest is to paint the mount to the color you want with a shake can. I sure would go with the 19 Dynamix. Update the software first thing when you get it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hard to find much info or of people liking the ride command or dynamix on the forums here. Though, looks like the older 5 button ride command had a bad rap. From reading it looks like the 2017 or 2018 models started to come with the 7 button ride command. I'm kinda partial to the 2019 style body though.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
977 Posts
Ride command you can't enter GPS coordinates. Instead you have to get to the given location and save as a waypoint. That is its downfall, at least currently. Software update may fix that.

iPad with LeadNav is much better. I have both currently and only use LeadNav on iPad. LeadNav is what many pro races teams run.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Nothing wrong with the 5 button. I have a 2018 with the 5 button. Keep the software and maps updated. Very easy to do. Nothing wrong with the 7 button. Again, keep updated.

This where I buy most of my accessories: https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/

They offer cash back based on purchase and can use it to help pay for next purchase. We have spent lots of $$ with them and totally satisfied.

Remember all one finds on these forums are those with a grip. All the rest are out riding and having fun.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Ride command you can't enter GPS coordinates. Instead you have to get to the given location and save as a waypoint. That is its downfall, at least currently. Software update may fix that.

iPad with LeadNav is much better. I have both currently and only use LeadNav on iPad. LeadNav is what many pro races teams run.
If you are talking about pre planning a ride, one uses Ride Command app on desktop, phone or tablet. Point and click to add all the waypoints. Then load on dash. Works both ways. can download rides to phone then to desktop or use a usb drive.

I have used the iPad many years. Find Ride command is far superior and much easier to use. Plus it is always with the machine. Save a lot of messing around hooking up and mounting other stuff.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
977 Posts
Ride command you can't enter GPS coordinates. Instead you have to get to the given location and save as a waypoint. That is its downfall, at least currently. Software update may fix that.

iPad with LeadNav is much better. I have both currently and only use LeadNav on iPad. LeadNav is what many pro races teams run.
If you are talking about pre planning a ride, one uses Ride Command app on desktop, phone or tablet. Point and click to add all the waypoints. Then load on dash. Works both ways. can download rides to phone then to desktop or use a usb drive.

I have used the iPad many years. Find Ride command is far superior and much easier to use. Plus it is always with the machine. Save a lot of messing around hooking up and mounting other stuff.
That can be a pain. More often than not i'm also not planning out rides in advanced. Often with my group of riders we are camping in different locations and we send a text simply saying meet at these cooridnates 8pm. I can't go on my ride command and just put those in. I don't want to have to go to another device, enter those coordinate, then transfer/upload to RideCommand. I can enter coordinates on any other offroad gps application directly, why not RideCommand? Why Polaris doesn't have that ability blows my mind. That is standard operating procedures for the offroad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Could be that there are so many different ways to write GPS points that it can get very confusion to the average users. Google using one way, others use another way, no standard format. The average user finds it much easier to find what they want on a map and simple point. I know of all this because I sell maps and GPX information. Some of the questions show a great deal of lack of knowledge. Some want a lot of hand holding that I do not want to do. Can image the level of problems Polaris would have with trying to allow GPS information added and all the complaints and calls of it does not work.

This may not be the case, but it is a real world problem.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
977 Posts
Could be that there are so many different ways to write GPS points that it can get very confusion to the average users. Google using one way, others use another way, no standard format. The average user finds it much easier to find what they want on a map and simple point. I know of all this because I sell maps and GPX information. Some of the questions show a great deal of lack of knowledge. Some want a lot of hand holding that I do not want to do. Can image the level of problems Polaris would have with trying to allow GPS information added and all the complaints and calls of it does not work.

This may not be the case, but it is a real world problem.
Agreed, but a good offroad GPS software will let you enter it in multiple formats and even convert it from one format to another for you. LeadNav on my iPad does all this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Could be that there are so many different ways to write GPS points that it can get very confusion to the average users. Google using one way, others use another way, no standard format. The average user finds it much easier to find what they want on a map and simple point. I know of all this because I sell maps and GPX information. Some of the questions show a great deal of lack of knowledge. Some want a lot of hand holding that I do not want to do. Can image the level of problems Polaris would have with trying to allow GPS information added and all the complaints and calls of it does not work.

This may not be the case, but it is a real world problem.
Agreed, but a good offroad GPS software will let you enter it in multiple formats and even convert it from one format to another for you. LeadNav on my iPad does all this.
Yes and that is all it has to do. Not keep track of all the information on the rest of the machine. Plus one only buys said software if one knows or willing to learn how to use it without expecting lots of hand holding. Call Ride Command and ask for that to be added. Maybe some day it will show up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
The other thought: look at the computing power in the iPad. Can you imaging the coast to add that kind of computing power into ride command? Would be a really big cost hurdle. They have to find a balance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #15 (Edited)
When I bought my 2011 Polaris Rush 800 in 2011 I found a few guys that built maps for Wisconsin & Minnesota that I could input to my old Garmin GPS I had mounted to my sled. It worked pretty well. Is there no pre built maps for summer off road use? I take it Polaris doesn’t have any, and the ride command probably only has X amount of space to store the data like a built in SD card?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
977 Posts
The other thought: look at the computing power in the iPad. Can you imaging the coast to add that kind of computing power into ride command? Would be a really big cost hurdle. They have to find a balance.
True, but to me until Ride Command is able to do this, I won't use it. It is just a backup for me at this point. And let's not forget these aren't cheap. For the cost of them, they should have some decent computing power comparable to an iPad IMO. Hell I can buy a little raspberry pi computer with a dual 1.6ghz processor and 4gb of ram for $55. That is enough computing power to run these items.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
When I bought my 2011 Polaris Rush 800
In 2011 I found a few guys that built maps for Wisconsin & Minnesota that I could input to my old Garmin GPS I had mounted to my sled. It worked pretty well. Is there no pre built maps for summer off road use? I take it Polaris doesn’t have any, and the ride command probably only has X amount of space to store the data like a built in SD card?
One can add maps. Go to Ride Command and look at the maps. Polaris has done a really good job of having the roads and trail systems that are open already loaded. Plus they are updating the maps regularly as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,025 Posts
Personally, I find myself using my Ipad with Avenza maps downloaded way more then the ride command.
Yea, have used them as well. Got real tired of all the time spent trying to be sure and have all the maps needed in the area we were going, only to find out I forgot some and in an area with no service to download them. I find Ride Command so much nicer to use and it has all the open roads and maps in place.

We rode so many more miles and covered so much more country with ride command than every were able to with mentioned maps and system. Totally appreciate the ease of use to have all that information at hand and so easy to use. It works for me.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
410 Posts
GAIA app on a cellular type iPad (has the GPS receiver) works great. I'm going to try it with Samsung Galaxy Tab A.
 
1 - 20 of 77 Posts
Top