Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for the rookie question, I’m kinda new to this SxS world… I installed a new 5k lb Badlands and 2 weeks ago used it for the first time and it worked great. On this first use I did not free the spool to pull the line out, I let the line out using the winch (not sure why, yes it was slow), but it winched back in just fine. Today, I needed it again and freed the spool to pull the line out (turned the clutch dial counter-clockwise until it clicked then stopped), then I connected to the tree and rotated the clutch dial clockwise until it stopped and when I tried to winch in I could hear the clicks but the winch didn’t turn. Is there something else I need to do to re-engage the winch after freeing the spool, besides turning the dial back clockwise? Nothing is mentioned in the manual. Since I’ve used it before I’m confident everything is wired right and should work fine. Anyone have a guess on this? I have been thru any water the could have hurt this, only been riding on forest trails. Thanks so much!

·
Premium Member
1,422 Posts
Sounds like your not fully engaging the dogs in the clutch after you free spool.
I free spool and then engage the lock on the winch and give the rope a tug with my hand to ensure the dogs are fully engaged to winch in.

If you winch a lot and in sometimes the solenoid gets over heated and will quit working momentarily till it cools down- so just an FYI--
Had this happen a few time in Moab doing a lot of retrievals using the winch a lot.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds like your not fully engaging the dogs in the clutch after you free spool.
I free spool and then engage the lock on the winch and give the rope a tug with my hand to ensure the dogs are fully engaged to winch in.