Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The S1000 has 100hp, the XP has 110hp. I'm trying to remember what the differences were that made up that 10hp difference, and curious if there are any simple upgrades to gain a little out of the S model. I'm not looking for huge gains, but if I can gain 10-20hp with some tuning and such it would be nice.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I’m interested to see the responses to this. Though I’m new to the SXS world, with cars, outside of air intake and a slip-on exhaust (muffler) we should probably look a “packages” or “stages”. As you modify things it changes the overall stresses and dynamics. So, it very well could be that the recommendation would be a flashed ecu and clutch kit paired with exhaust and intake.
As I mentioned, I could totally be wrong. I also think this is the lie I tell myself to buy more than one item at a time.
So, anyone else feel free to speak to the exact changes in the motor from the S to the XP, and also my comments above are open for agreement or disagreement.

Sent from my iPhone using RZRForums.net

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I do agree that all of those things play a part, but i'm mostly looking at the engine. It's like a car, you increase power from the engine, but to fully get it's max you gear it for your intended needs. A jeep you can increase power, but you also gear it for the type of driving and such you will be doing. I am looking for the same. I am pretty happy with my setup, and will likely change some gearing to be able to "crawl" the rocks better, but first I want to see if there is a relatively low cost improvement we can get out of the engine. Is the ECU the difference in the XP or is there some internal changes to the engine as well? Once I see where the engine stands, then i'll look at gearing and clutches to apply that power as needed.

·
5,815 Posts