Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone know the Mftr/Part Number and a source for the male version of what I'm assuming is the 8 pin diagnostic plug on my 2013 RZR XP4 900?



The label on the cable:

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Figured it out. For anyone else who might eventually be looking:

Its a Delphi Connection Systems GT150 8 position connector. The one on the RZR is the female and it is considered a sealed connector. The Delphi part number on the male is 15326840. You'll also need wire seals, plugs for unused pins (the RZR uses 4 of the 8 pins) and the correct sized pins for the wire you'll be using. the part numbers for those are all available from the mouser link for the above part number.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Mike are you going to use this for diag? If so what program are you going to be using?
Hehe was wondering when someone would ask.

First, no guarantee on this working.

According to the service manual, on my XP the diagnostic connector has 4 wires, ground, switched 12+, CAN high and CAN low. (And the manual appears to have the pinout backwards) This may or may not be the case on other machines. The Xp uses a bosch ecu. it would be helpful to know which one, but that info doesn't seem to be readily available on Mr. google. What is known is that polaris uses the CAN bus to send diagnostic data, temp data, rpm, and some other data to the multi function display. We also know that it is used to send the data to digital wrench.

There is at least some possibility that polaris is using the automotive obd-ii or eobd standard to send this information to digital wrench thru a custom connector. They did it on a number of other machines (sleds and jetskis), and rewriting the entire diagnostic section of an off the shelf Bosch ecu doesn't make financial sense when you can just change out the connector. The sleds and jetski references I've found are mostly older models that use a single k line communication vs CAN. Luckily, Obd supports both k line and CAN.

Why spend time hacking the diagnostic connector? Because no one else has, and, because it should open up viewing and logging of engine sensors and data (temp, rpm, maf, etc.) viewing of codes, clearing of codes (if were lucky). Im working on adding a nexus 7 tablet to mine that will be used as a gps and think that adding engine and performance data to the tablet, as well as having it available for video overlay would be pretty cool.

So, next step is to build a cable and test it with an obd interface on the computer. That should let me view the raw data on the can bus, and if were really lucky, see obd messages.

What would be helpful:
1) someone with an 08/09 service manual check the diagnostic connector and see if it uses CAN or something else.
2) the Bosch model information for the ecu in both the xp and the 800 for different years.
3) if someone has been down this road before and it somehow eluded search.
4) if someone has a significant amount of experience with canbus, send me a pm.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, updates:
I confirmed that there is indeed a CAN bus at that diagnostic connector. Its recognized by the scan tool as an ISO15765-4 (CAN Bus) 29/250 (29 bit, 250kb). I'm able to see data on the bus, but it isn't ODBII. It looks like Polaris is using a 1 byte header address instead of a 3 byte header address. I can force a single byte header, but the various applications wont put up with it. I'd have to write a new application, which I don't know enough to do, that handled the polaris specific messaging protocol. For someone with significant experience with CAN and OBD, this might be doable, but not for me. At least we can view the codes via the multi function display.

So basically, at least on a 2013 ECU, theres no easy way to just connect up a scan tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I'd like to get more info on what you found with the CAN bus and your Polaris machine. I am trying to do similar diagnostics on my Polaris Slingshot but I am not able to read the CAN bus properly with the tools I have. I wonder if the protocol is the same on my 2015 Slingshot. I am local to Redwood City if you want to check it out @Darksoldier360
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have started working on a similar project and wondering how far you progressed with this
unsure what makes you think it was a 1 byte header
from what I can determine it is using ISO 11898 with 29 bit identifiers not ISO15765-4
Data I have been able to receive so far with engine not running

Message times
18 FE C1 17 A0 D8 09 00 4C FE 00 00 3
18 FE F5 17 FF FF FF 20 1D FF FF FF 3
18 FE FC 17 FF 96 FF FF FF FF FF FF 3
18 FD E5 00 10 18 27 38 48 58 FA 90 18
18 FE CA 00 40 FF 0F F0 E4 08 FF FF 18
18 FE EE 00 50 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 18
18 FE FC 00 FF 96 FF FF FF FF FF FF 18
18 FE CA 13 00 FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF 19
18 F0 06 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 38
1C FD DF 00 FE FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 38
1C FF 6A 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 38
18 F0 05 00 FF FF FF FF 20 50 FF FF 186
18 FE F1 00 3F 00 00 CF FF FF FF FF 186
18 FE F2 00 00 00 00 FB 00 06 27 FF 186
18 FF 67 13 00 7D 00 7D 00 80 4E FF 186
18 FF 6D 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 186
0C F0 04 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6F 929
0C FF 66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 930
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
ok so I have got a little bit further and now realised it is actually J1939 Format
so once I set my OBD device to J1939 this is what I got running ATMA
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
6 0FEF1 00 3F 00 00 CF FF FF FF FF
6 0F005 00 FF FF FF FF 20 50 FF FF
6 0FEF2 00 00 00 00 FB 00 06 27 FF
6 0FF6D 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
6 0FF67 13 FD 7C 00 7D 00 80 47 FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
3 0F004 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF 6E
3 0FF66 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF

then I tried the command
atdm1 to retrieve error codes and received this
6 0FECA 00 40 FF 0F F0 E4 08 FF FF
6 0ECFF 13 20 0A 00 02 FF CA FE 00
6 0EBFF 13 01 40 FF BE 00 02 03 27
6 0EBFF 13 02 F0 FF 0B FF FF FF FF

now just have to work out how decipher the error codes from HEX in to the SPN and FMI
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
I would love to be able to clear codes with my scan tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Ok so I have made some progress on my Android app
have been able to decipher the data
able to display error codes and data
still can't clear the codes yet
here are some screenshots I have so far

Screenshot_2016-03-24-11-00-18.png

Screenshot_2016-03-24-11-07-40.png
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
101 Posts
This would be cool if you could share this info with the new Garmin camera it does video overlay via Bluetooth.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
bosch is german. most likely try vag-com. vag-com is for your laptop normally 100 dollars. its used for vw, volo, porsche, bmw. which all use bosch ecms. hope this helps. there is also apps for android for free but they only read codes. if it work you can also change parameters. such as for bmw how your alarms beep. etc.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Ok so I have made some progress on my Android app
have been able to decipher the data
able to display error codes and data
still can't clear the codes yet
here are some screenshots I have so far

View attachment 234961

View attachment 234969
Did you ever ger any further on this? Would love to get a copy of your apk. I think i still have the parts to build a proper cable or two... happy to at least do that and send you one. Ill be at the glamis ride as well.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Ok so I have made some progress on my Android app
have been able to decipher the data
able to display error codes and data
still can't clear the codes yet
here are some screenshots I have so far

View attachment 234961

View attachment 234969
Hello,
Can you provide the Can Bus string for the RPM and Speed.
I am working with trouble shooting a sub system and I need to feed it RPM and Speed data to trick it into thinking the vehicle is on and moving.
Thanks
Troy Reabe
 
1 - 20 of 38 Posts
Top