Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i have a new 2012 rzr le with 200 miles on it now and i was cleaning it up after our ride yesterday and thought i would take a look at the air filter. when i took the cover off i noticed there was oil at the bottom of the box. so i got out the flash light and followed the oil up to a breather above the the air filter. i am no mechanic but this doesn't seem right. the machine has 10 hours on it now and i followed the break in religiously. please help!

·
Registered
7,294 Posts
There is a breather hose from the valve cover on the engine to the air cleaner box.

Its not at all uncommon to see a bit of oil in the boot between the air cleaner and the throttle body.

I believe the filter on the breather hose can be replaced. I never ran my stock air filter, sold it without looking at it.

But...I don't think you have a problem. And, yes, if you inspect the breather hose you will find about a 1" slit in the hose. Its there on purpose. Polaris says it there in case of freezing. Not sure what that means, but well all got one.

JMO

Pirate

·
Registered
3,733 Posts
Vented oil vapors leaving the engine (via the vent-tube) first encounter a course, sponge-like filter as they pass into the air-box canister, where they coalesce and then drip down and collect at the bottom of the canister. So long as the pooled amount of liquid-oil doesn't exceed about a teaspoon or two in volume, then it's normal and you've nothing to worry about. A half-a-cup of collected oil should be considered excessive, and is probably indicative of blow-by at the piston-rings, brought on by ingesting dust or dirt through the intake track. My two-bits...................

Cheers

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·