Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here is the deal, wondering if I were to run an off size tire at slow speeds to limp back to the trailer would cause problems.

The situation is that I really dont want to invest in a 5th tire and wheel to match when I have two complete sets of wheels/tires.
For example if I am running 30-31" tires and bust a rim, could I throw one of the stock bighorn 29" (front wheel) on to limp back to trailer out without damaging any of the driveline?
I know the diameter isn't much different, and I would want to avoid anything high speed.

Looking for your opinions, as I am still a bit new to the RZR driveline, and dont want to damage it by doing something dumb.

·
Aspiring Perfectionist
3,079 Posts
Yeah, as Joe said, keep the off size on the front and you’ll be ok, just might have to swap a good front to a bad rear and then spare the front if you had too.

I wouldn’t drive it with the AWD switch on in that configuration for very long either, especially not at speed.. be ok if you needed to get up or out of something for a short period still tho, might have some Ill effects in prolonged use tho.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
Shouldn't be an issue to get you back to the trailer. It will pull to one side if on the rear because of the reasons others have pointed out. The better the traction the worse it will be.

It won't damage anything.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys, that was kinda what I was thinking, that worst case keep equal on the back and then put spare on front and only run 2wd. I used to have to do that with my old truck that had a locker in the rear.

·
Registered
25 Posts
So here is the deal, wondering if I were to run an off size tire at slow speeds to limp back to the trailer would cause problems.

The situation is that I really dont want to invest in a 5th tire and wheel to match when I have two complete sets of wheels/tires.