Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm new to this gps thing
Just setup a Samsung galaxy tablet for my rzr. I have bought and downloaded backcountry navigator pro.

I'm wondering what map you guys use? I'm in Southern California and do most of my riding in the Johnsonvalley area.

I've gone through a lot of the maps that are available from bcn but haven't found one thatI like
I would like to find one that's a satellite view, with roads and trails marked. I like one of the topo maps but I don't like all the curvature and I'm guessing altitude markings?
Just looking for a simple plain satellite view with road markings.

Kind of like Google maps.
Any recommendations?

Thank you

·
Registered
31 Posts
Get the OsmAnd app free from the Google play store. Amazing functionality. Large selection of free background maps, topo, sat, highway, marine, aviation. Turn by turn spoken navigation. Great track management. Great poi search capability, real time tracking, open source program and maps. More...

Nothing else comes close.

BackwoodsGPStrails.com

·
Registered
27 Posts
I'll post up my $.02. I have Galaxy Tab A, 256Gb card in it. I have been running GAIA GPS for about a year now, have zero complaints and recommend it to all of our group members out here.
Where we trail ride, cell service is not available in spots, so I rely on the GPS 100%. I have downloaded the satellite maps onto the SD card. Roughly 100 mile x 100 mile area with a resolution of about 20 feet.
I have found it to be very accurate, fast and outperforms our friends with onboard Ride Command ( that system is laggy). I can trace out a route in either their built in feature or p-line one through Google earth and export/sync to the tablet. Record an unknown ride and download the background map after to fill in the spots.