Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been looking for high clearance A-arms for my 2015 S 900 to get more ground clearance and fit 30" tires. While reading a bunch of threads I made some notes which might help others so I am posting them up here.

I’m pretty new to UTVs and learned a few things along the way..... arched A-arms do not increase overall ground clearance. They only provide more ground clearance under the arms themselves because they are bent up and will clear rocks, etc that might have hit the factory arms because they are straight and hang lower. To increase overall ground clearance, you need bigger tires or a lift.

Some aftermarket A-arms are offset to the front and rear compared to the factory arms to increase wheelbase and clear bigger tires, others are not offset at all and maintain factory dimensions. As to offset arms, the fronts are offset forward and the rears are offset rearward. So if the front and rear arms are both offset 1.5", the wheelbase would be increased by 3".

Increasing wheelbase supposedly makes the vehicle more stable in certain situations like hill climbs or riding fast in the desert. But a longer wheelbase makes it harder to handle tight turns so there is a trade off.

Some companies also sell lifts along with high clearance A-arms. But lifts are another trade off. The taller the car, the higher the center of gravity which could make it more unstable in turns, off camber, etc. Longer A-arms are also possible but extra width is another trade off, a wider vehicle can be more stable but it might not fit between obstacles or squeeze on your trailer. Some A-arm kits require 4+3 offset wheels for clearance which also increases vehicle width, an important factor to check out.