Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Rugged Radio and intercom that I want to install in my new toy. I have the bracket sold by Rugged.

If anyone has been down this path before me, I'd appreciate your input as to any tips or things to avoid.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Im an electrician and I installed mine in my 2019 turbo s ,install was easy and works perfect.what kind of questions do you have?

·
Registered
273 Posts
I have a 2020 Turbo S 4 and installed mine myself. Am happy to answer any questions. The only issue I had was that the included antenna cable is too short to run the antenna at the back of the rig like I did on my XP1K. I ride in areas with lots of low hanging branches so I try and avoid having the antenna on the roof. Was able to get it to reach to one of the roll bars behind the rear seats and that seems fine as it still is protected. Other than that it is an easy install. Just use colored electricians tape to tape both ends of your comm wires so you know which one is driver vs. passenger. That isn't even a big deal as you can just swap where they are connected on the back of the unit as it is fairly easy to get to. I drilled holes and used grommets and routed my wires all through the center tunnel section so that it looked nice. Just make sure you run your antenna away from any power wires you might be running for anything else. Good luck!

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you Jeffster in advance.

Questions:
  • Did you ground your antenna to the frame with a ground strap?
  • Did you install a switch or do you have to turn the comms on with the switch on the front of each unit?
  • Did you install a filter?
  • What size screw did you use to secure the top of the mounting bracket to the glove box opening?
  • Did you secure the radio at the rear or is the mounting bracket enough to hold it?