Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i got my 2013 RZR S 800 3 days ago and as i put it into gear at the dealer it grinds. I kinda though to myself oops i must not have had the brake pushed in all the way. So i get it home and start to drive it around and im noticing almost every time i shift it into reverse or any other gear it grinds bad!!

I call the dealer and he said it will do that when there new, give it time to break in and it will stop. Is this true?? He also said shift it hard not slow. Anybody else have this problem? Im not a rocket scientist but when you have a brand new machine its not suppose to be munching metal like that.

Should i take it in and pimp slap the dealer???

·
Registered
15,386 Posts
gears grinding means that the CVT is not disengaging at idle.
this can happen with a brand new belt and get better after break in,, but I would say it shouldn't happen on a new stock machine.
perhaps the clutch is out of alignment or the primary bearing isn't working properly.
take a look at the belt change videos (link in my signature) and you will see how the CVT works.

·
Registered
813 Posts
Never happened to mine at all.Does not sound good.I would take it back to dealer asap and if it happens again after the dealer tell them you want another new unit......PERIOD!

·
Registered
71 Posts