Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Cooling Fan Over Ride

I've seen the vendor kits advertised. Want to do my own.

Not because of cost but because...

I have an extra switch on my dash that I installed for later use.
Now I have that use.

Can I just take the hot lead off that switch and tap into the hot wire on my fan and fire the fan when ever I want?

Sounds to simple...
Is the fan switched positive or negative?
Will I backfeed the relay or ECU?
Is there a better way?

Thanks in advance for any replies

·
Premium Member
4,381 Posts
Once I finish the stuff I am doing now, I'm going to completely bypass the fan control that Polaris built. Check out Delta Current Control. I've been running one on my 410 Cleveland powered Mustang for a couple of years. These things are genius. They use a small temperature probe inserted into the fins on the outlet side of the radiator and control the fan speed isolated from anything the rest of the engine control system uses. When it starts to heat the coolant, the controller adds enough fan speed to maintain outlet temp up to full flow. Good news is it doesn't hit the electrical system with that big surge every time the fan comes on. Just slow and gradual increases up to what you need to maintain.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That sounds like it'll be cool setup:) Pun intended...

But my fan relay in the fuse box crapped out on the trail and my fan wouldn't come on. New relay and it's fixed.

If it happens again I'd like to have a switched hot to fire the fan manually.
AND/OR Run my fan continiously through deep sand washes and the like.

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
Yes it is as simple as running a hot wire directly to the fan. I tapped into mine about 6" from the fan. I can manually switch it on anytime I want.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Brad,