Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, noob here.

I have a 2009 RZR S 800 and the owners manual says to use 0W-40. Am I able to use regular Mobil 1 0W-40 from Walmart? Also, would the mobil1 filter be ok instead of the Polaris filter? What oil would you guys recommend to use and is there an alternative for the front and rear gearcase? Or is Polaris ADF the way to go?

·
Registered
960 Posts

·
Registered
582 Posts
Hi, noob here.

I have a 2009 RZR S 800 and the owners manual says to use 0W-40. Am I able to use regular Mobil 1 0W-40 from Walmart? Also, would the mobil1 filter be ok instead of the Polaris filter? What oil would you guys recommend to use and is there an alternative for the front and rear gearcase? Or is Polaris ADF the way to go?
Mozart posted the best thread to answer your question. The 09 did use 0W40. I tried to use 0w40 in my 12 800 and the motor did not like it at all. I tried to use Rotella T6 and my motor did not like it either. Both oils I tried made my motor sputter and pop. I tested compression and it was perfect. I drained it out and put PS4 in there and boom motor ran flawlessly. Never ever has a machine rejected any oil before but mine did. So I'm not messing around anymore. Just gonna run polaris lubricants in everything except for rear diff. Any 80w90 gear oil will work. Anyone want to buy 3 quarts of Maxima 0w40 SxS specific oil. I will sell it really cheap. Make an offer.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·