Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a newbie. How crucial is the break-in period? How long should it last And what should be the limitations?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Allow the engine to heat cycle 5-6 times and vary rpms during this period to help rings seat. For belt break in just take it easy and use low when doing low speed trails and hill climbs. 20 hrs is the safe bet but just take it easy and dont stress out over it.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Two schools of thought on break in. 1) Run it like you stole it. 2) Take it easy, follow manufacturer guidelines. Let the fresh parts "get to know each other". I am of the latter.

Friend just bought a new '19 few months ago. Not sure of his break in, but said it went "Knock, knock about 7 times then the rod wanted to be outside of the case".

·
Registered
156 Posts
The last thing you want to do is baby it during break in. I'm not saying to beat on it, but vary the RPM's and don't be afraid to let it rev out some. Heat cycles are important as well. We used to build high horsepower Yamaha Raptor engines and we always ran them hard during break in for short periods of time for about 4 heat cycles and it never failed us.

·
Registered
4 Posts
i got my machine with 3 miles on it from the dealer. tok it out a couple times around the house flogging it good enough to break an axle and roll it. then at the 18 mile mark took a trip to glamis, changed the oil at 250 miles and was at 498 miles when we got back home.