Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
2021 Pro XP 4
Discussion Starter #1
I would have assumed based on the mechanics of the CVT system that load would be the killer ... including things like long, slow attempts to pull a car up over obstacles or scenarios that would result in excessive slippage to get moving from stationary positions. But just read a FB discussion on belt failures that contradicts everything I thought I knew - so hoping for some clarity.

21 Pro XP. Was in a situation last week where I had to modulate throttle in low gear to get through about 200 yards of snow on a slightly uphill grade. Several are implying this - despite belt engagement, minimal resistance during tire spin and < 1/2 throttle is equally damaging?

I have 3 years experience and have never lost a belt - new car has bigger tires and more power. Plans to ride everything from dunes to rock crawling. Not too proud to learn so any advice is appreciated.

Super Moderator
FB discussion
Well it's "FB" where everyone is an expert so... 馃槣

High load conditions where the belt gets hot is what can damage a belt. It's not related to throttle position. Get a belt temp gauge and watch the belt temps under various conditions. A belt temp gauge is one of the best things you can do and should come with one from the factory IMO.

Vendor
I would have assumed based on the mechanics of the CVT system that load would be the killer ... including things like long, slow attempts to pull a car up over obstacles or scenarios that would result in excessive slippage to get moving from stationary positions. But just read a FB discussion on belt failures that contradicts everything I thought I knew - so hoping for some clarity.