Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all,
With the amount of riding we do where there's no cell service I'm feeling it'd be wise to have something to contact civilization with in the event of a breakdown. I don't know a ton about this, but I suspect a portable CB wouldn't work because no one will likely be close enough, and much of our riding is in the mountains where there'd be no line-of-site to another person. Do I need to find a satellite-based solution, and would that work even if there's no cell service, is that a 100% guaranteed solution? I see Garmin has a solution but it requires a subscription - is there some device I can buy that wouldn't require a subscription? I'm looking for anyone's experience and expertise.
Thank you in advance!

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
I'm no expert but have researched this a bit as well as owning/subscribing to SPOT satellite device....(It is a satellite device that keeps track of your position and allows you to 'get help' from friend/family or S&R...It also allowed you to send a couple of per-recorded messages to family... and for family to track you...It was reasonably priced, but required a monthly/annual fee... It also required familiarity with their website and required some time to learn the ropes...There are other similar services, a couple, I think...I recently looked into satellite phones...Basically there are two companies. Both require a subscription with various options...One, a minute based charge that expires after a certain period..(monthly as I recall). Or a subscription for a given period with a limit on minutes...Satellite phones are not cheap! $500-700, I believe...With some offers of a package 'deal' which was 'reasonable'...But still not cheap! Google Satellite phone service...I've considered it, but I usually/always ride with a group and someone can go for help...LOL...I do have 'Life Flight' however...

·
Registered