Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know if it would be a bad idea to run Aviation fuel in the 2019 non-turbo:devil 1k? it has a blue tint to it and is 100 LL would anyone forsee hotter cylinder temperatures because of that or destroying fuel lines and the motor? The upsides would be a higher octane fuel and aviation fuel doesn't go bad like regular fuel does so, therefore, no clogged injectors. Out here Aviation fuel is only like 30 cents more than supreme so money savings wouldn't be a big thing either. Thank you to anyone who has tried it and thanks in advance to any mechanics.

·
Registered
3,010 Posts
They are ZERO benefits from running aviation fuel. The down sides are several: higher octane than required actually hurts performance, leaded fuels can destroy O2 sensors, and higher cost.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
I’m a pilot and aviation mechanic and a worldwide tech for Rotax engine questions. Do not run Avgas in your Rzr. The 100LL is full of lead. A gas has a lot more lead in it than our old gas decades ago with lead. First a full synthetic oil will not suspend the lead and it will fall out through out your engine. Second that lead will gum up parts in this engine in as little as 100 hours. It’s more expensive than premium auto fuel by quite a bit.
There are more reasons not to, but I hope this is enough to keep you from damaging your engine. Aircraft owners would like to stop using 100LL fuel to, but other than the newer Swift fuel there are no good alternatives.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Aviation fuel could either be Jet fuel (kerosene, jetA1) or Avgas.

Your probably thinking Avgas. You can get VP racing gas. The low end starts at about $9.00 a gallon.

Premium unleaded, non ethanol gas can be found locally for about $4.00 a gallon. Or lower.

Check here for local stations in your state. PureGas