Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Can't 'Member.
755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a racing fan and have been watching the various series try to keep the fan interest with their IRacing programs.
It is clear you can spend as much as you want on this stuff, rumor has it Denny Hamlin from NASCAR has a Sim set up, (they call them "rigs" apparently) worth about 40k.
Any of you guys do this, and what is a good path into this deal?
One of our sons and grandson live in another state and it would be fun to be avle to go online and race against them in a virtual world.
Thoughts?

·
Registered
79 Posts
You might see if Kyle Larson has his stuff listed for sale yet. He won't be using it soon and could probably use the money.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I wouldn't say I'm an expert by any means. :LOL: But I dabble in iRacing with a somewhat budget setup. I think I have less than $1,500 into my gaming computer. I bought it at Best Buy. I know everyone jumps on the "you can build one for WAY cheaper why would you buy one" bandwagon but I have neither the time, desire, or patience to figure out how to build my own PC. I have more money than time to waste, so I buy my gaming PC's.
Anyway, I have a middle of the road gaming PC, and a steering wheel setup from Fanatec. I think I have somewhere around $650 or $700 into my wheel setup.
You can get much cheaper force feedback wheels that will work just fine.
Here is where my setup gets a little ghetto. I built my "cockpit" out of 2x4's using a design I found online, and the driver's seat from a 90's Monte Carlo I had that the engine blew up in.
You can find affordable racing rigs from companies like PlaySeat for around $350. I plan to upgrade to something like one of the rigs from PlaySeat in the near future. I built my 2x4 rig years ago when I was a broke ass college kid playing Forza on Xbox and have been dragging it around every since.