Polaris RZR Forum - RZR Forums.net banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this RZR forums and I am trying to find some help to solve my issue.

I have a 2015 Highlifter with only 50 miles; I am in the break-in process and have used it without engaging full throttle. After riding in dirt, mud and sand the first 40 miles at low speeds sometimes in L and sometimes in H, the high temperature light is turning on (at 231 degrees). The light goes off after stoping for a while so it cools down or just by going with very little throttle. The fan comes on at 205 degrees.

I have washed it completely, cleaned air filter, checked coolant level, cleaned radiator, even changed the engine oil for the first time and the oil filter because I thought that might be the problem but it was not. I even drove it in the street for 10 miles to see if in normal conditions it would get hot, and it did. The temperature has gone up to 237 degrees and the motor loses power completely. Everything else seems to be normal but I am frustrated that I can not ride for more than 15 minutes when it gets the light again.

Any experiences with this? Your help will be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

·
Registered
454 Posts
Sounds like you may have some air trapped in the coolant system, there is a bleed screw above the oil filter, near the exhaust. On level ground open that screw till only coolant is flowing out of it.

·
Premium Member
594 Posts
It wont take long running up to 231 degrees to ruin that motor, so first off stop doing that. You have a flow problem. Could be air as mentioned above, could be thermostat, could be water pump. All are pretty easy to confirm. In a brand new machine you could also have foreign material blocking a passage, not so easy to confrim. But a new machine with warranty needs to back to the dealer to be fixed and documented. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,977 Posts